follow us
  • Susan Dickenson

ALA conference hosts nearly 500 attendees

LIGHTING RETAILERS, SHOWROOMS, manufacturers and sales representatives traveled to Palm Beach, Fla., for the American Lighting Association's annual conference Sept. 11-13. The event was attended by nearly 500 people, including 105 first timers and 41 new ALA members.

Bill O'Connor, VP of sales for Casablanca/Hunter Fan, chaired this year's conference committee. Morning and afternoon seminar sessions gave attendees an opportunity to gain information on a variety of lighting, energy and showroom/retail topics, while earning credit hours toward certification in the lighting consultant and lighting manufacturers rep educational programs.

On the conference's final night, ALA Board of Governors Chair-Elect Tony Davidson (president/CEO Kichler Lighting) presided over a gala reception and banquet at which Zia Eftekhar (CEO, Philips Lighting), was inducted into the Lighting Hall of Fame. Recognition and honors were also given to retiring Chair Carolyn Overman (Western Montana Lighting), and 2011 Industry Pillars James Decker (Progress Lighting), Fred Fennell (Fennell Marketing and Sales) and Larry King (Capital Lighting). In addition, ALA's Director of Engineering and Technology Terry McGowan and Cree's Chris Wellborn were recognized with the 2011 Leadership in LED Lighting Safety and Standards Development awards.

Attendes visited sponsor booths during a special exhibition luncheon.

Attendes visited sponsor
Lindsey Villarreal
Lindsey Villarreal, Dallas Market Center, Mark Villarreal, Karen Seidman and Rick Seidman of Quoizel.

Tony Davidson, president and CEO of Kichler Lighting and chair-elect of the ALA Board of Governors; with Clark Linstone, CFO of Lamps Plus and treasurer of the ALA Board of Governors; and Karen Rosenthal.
Robbin Wells

Robbin Wells, Dallas Market Center, with Kathleen and Bill Winsor, also of DMC.
Moira Upton, Dick Upton, president and CEO of ALA; with Carolyn Overman, owner of Western Montana Lighting and chair of the ALA Board of Governors; and Ben Overman.
Moira Upton
Eric JacobsonEric Jacobson, ALA VP of membership; Larry Lauck, ALA VP-communications; and Nancy O’Conner and Bill O’Conner of Casablanca/Hunter Fan and 2011 ALA Conference chairman.
A reception for new ALA members and first-time conference attendees was held opening night in The Breakers’ Mediterranean Courtyard.
ALA members
Uttermost’s Mac CooperUttermost’s Mac Cooper and Ken Delp at the outdoor reception for first-time conference attendees.
Janice Lassiter, Home Accents Today, and Bob Ulrich of Currey & Company attend the first-timers reception.
Janice Lassiter

Other Home Furnishings Sites

Casual Living
Furniture Today
Gifts and Decorative Accessories
Kids Today
Home & Textiles Today
HFN - Home Furnishings News